RFTIT Weekly Tumblr Roundup

shipbooks

Hey folks! Sorry to give you two tumblr roundups back-to-back, but I didn’t want this week to go by without an update. The Riverlands essay is up to 13k words right now but I’m only halfway done (some of that 13k will go down as I cut out quotes I don’t intend to use, etc.). If I’m not finished by this weekend, I intend to put up what I have so far on Monday. Incidentally, I want to take a bit of a break before I do the next one, because they eat up a lot of time and I want to do more ASOS chapters and more frequent content in general…speaking of which, I have outlines for the next three ASOS chapters and want to get more done and start writing out some essays.

So let’s look at what we’ve got from the Tumblrs:

6 thoughts on “RFTIT Weekly Tumblr Roundup

  1. thatrabidpotato says:

    I absolutely agree on Grimdark things, Steven. I learned a bit about Warhammer Fantasy when Warhammer Total War came out earlier this year, and for the first time in my life on encountering a new universe I feel no compulsion whatsoever to getting involved in that franchise. “Blood for the Blood God and Skulls For His Throne” is a very badass warcry, but why should I care about a fantasy universe that is literally predestined to get overtaken by absolute evil, burned to the ground, with the literal souls of every innocent within it used as fuel? What is the point?

    I definitely think Baelor saw himself as being on a divine mission after waking up for that coma. Shame Viserys didn’t whack him earlier. Shame Daeron I didn’t live, either: I know he was a irresponsible glory hound but looking at his successors I can’t help thinking he’d have been a much better monarch than what followed him.

    • Grant says:

      The ability to play as the villains? Waaaaaaaghhhhhh!

      But more seriously, I think there is some space to appreciate the Grimdark approach taking things to their extreme.

      Of course the writing for GW seems to be realizing that a different, lighter shade of black, approach might be needed with things like Ciaphas Cain stories.

    • Yeah, I used to love Warhammer Fantasy, but End Times killed that dead. What a boring ending that turned out to be.

  2. Crystal says:

    Re Littlefinger – it is noteworthy that even GoT Sansa, a naive and sheltered tween of 11, does not trust him! And, really, blatantly perving on a Lord Paramount’s daughter and fiance of the Crown Prince is *dumb.*

    I know that Steven has said it many times before, and so have most of the commentariat, but I’ll say it again – LF is not nearly as smart as he likes to think he is. He didn’t learn from his failed duel with Brandon Stark, and I think his loose lips are going to eventually sink his ship.

  3. Crystal says:

    Something I just thought of re royal progresses – I know that the journey down the Kingsroad was Necessary For Plot Purposes, but it might have been easier for Robert to visit the North via ship, from King’s Landing to White Harbor; then bring Ned and Co. back to KL that same way. Overland would take so much longer, though it might be an advantage if Robert wanted to show off his kingliness all the way up the Kingsroad.

Leave a Reply

