Celebratory RFTIT Tumblr Roundup!

At last, at long last…manuscript revisions are done and turned in to the publisher. Words cannot describe how relieved I feel. It has been three years of trying to turn my dissertation into a proper book; ten years since I started writing it; and many sleepless nights wondering whether anyone would ever read this thing which I’ve devoted a third of my life to.

Among the many things this means is that I can once again write for fun, the mere prospect of which has improved my mood immensely. I’m already working on the Politics of the Riverlands essay, which I think is going to be one of the best of the series, and Jon I, which is already up to 3700 words.

But in the mean time, I have to catch up on my Tumblrs. Buckle in, this is going to be a loooong one:

22 thoughts on “Celebratory RFTIT Tumblr Roundup!

  1. Solid_waste says:

    HEY! Be careful throwing around leads like “manuscript revisions are done” around here. I thought you were quoting GRRM on Winds for a moment and nearly shat myself! Anyway cheers! You deserve a rest!

  2. Sean C. says:

    Congratulations. For a long time I thought I was going to pursue a doctorate in history, but after my MA I decided that the methodological stuff didn’t interest me enough to dedicate such an amount of time to it (I still got three degrees, but I went to Queen’s for my JD instead).

  3. Sean C. says:

    Also, on the discussion about the Vale and lords like the Royces wanting to intervene on behalf of the Starks, I think it’s important to remember that, as far as pretty much everybody in the Vale believes, the Lannisters murdered Jon Arryn, who was every bit as beloved by his people as Ned or Robb was (more, arguably, seeing as his tenure as Lord of the Eyrie seems to have lasted 50-60 years; most people would not have significant memories of Lord Jasper, or any other Arryn lord). That’s not to say they don’t like the Starks a lot, but there’s an interest at stake apart from kinship ties.

  4. Grant says:

    Remember that the Kingsguard was, in large part, meant to be there for loyalty and to be an honor for houses that would make them closer to the king. Their skill in combat was of less concern. Still it probably would have been a better idea to be less symbolic and more expansive, though that brings up problems of loyalty. Maybe fourteen.

    • scarlett45 says:

      I always thought 7 was a low number as well, when you consider the Kings guard is to protect the entire royal family. seven guard may be adequate for the king and even the queen but when you add in the prince and princesses of Westeros and any Royal siblings of the reigning monarch your resources are spread thin.

    • Crystal says:

      And, as Petyr Baelish points out, it was a good way to ensure that a younger son was provided for. The man’s House was honored, and he himself was given a high office/rank.

      I also agree that more KG would be a great idea up to a certain number (fourteen would have that “Seven” symbolism). Especially if the KG was charged with protecting the Queen and royal children as well. If it was a small family that would be no problem, but imagine chasing after Jaehaerys I’s large family!

    • I don’t think skill wasn’t a concern – Visenya’s whole thing was that Aegon needed better guards around him.

  5. Anders Bloomquist says:

    From now on this blog will refer to any impressive accomplishment as “That’s a square cow.”

  6. Winnief says:

    Congrats Steve. What’s this next book about anyway?

  7. emmaelizabethpearson@gmail.com says:

    Well done! Amazing job throughout and today!

    >

  8. Amma says:

    Fantastic and well done for keeping up such good writing during a PhD ! Looking at the cow in the painting, I’m sure we were told the paintings were made as part of propaganda at the time. Does this sound like it could be true?

    • Well thanks, but the PhD has been done for a while. This is the next step, getting published.

      I’m sure there was an element of propaganda, but the stats on animal weight suggest that it was based on truth.

  9. fjallstrom says:

    Congratulations on the book.

    I tried to come up with dwarf nobles and drew a blank. So I went looking, and found that ancient Egypt had some: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seneb but the closest I got in European history was a court dwarf who moved into acting the part of a nobleman: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeffrey_Hudson

    When Hudson tried to use the tools of the nobleman to defend his honour and challenged a full-size nobleman to a duel, the nobleman showed up with a squirt-gun, Hudson shot him and everything went downwards from there.

    I get somewhat suspicious about the lack of noble dwarfs. Where they disposed of?

Leave a Reply

