Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter Update

attewell copy

So we’re 9 days into the Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter, and the response has been quite encouraging: so far we’ve managed to raise $4,735 or 31% of our ultimate goal. We’ve unlocked a bunch of bonus essays – we’re only $265 from unlocking the next bonus essay, this time on the history of the Great Councils of Westeros – and it looks like a lot of people are interested in getting hard copies of my books.

At the same time, if the Kickstarter is going to hit its ultimate goal of $15,000 raised – which is necessary for everyone to get the rewards they want and for me to have the time and money to do all of this writing – we need to keep up the pace in the remaining three weeks. So if you haven’t yet contributed (or if you’d like to increase your contribution), your support would be greatly appreciated; if you haven’t had the opportunity to spread the word by telling a friend about the Kickstarter, now would be a great time.

15 thoughts on “Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter Update

  1. Winnie says:

    I just doubled my donation from $25 to $50 Steve.

  2. Sam says:

    I am waiting until the end of the month when I get money. Hopefully there are some others like me.

  3. Hardy says:

    Don’t worry Sam (and probably others). Your credit card won’t be charched with the amount you like to contribute until the 4th of November, the end of this kickstarter project. And only then, when Steven will have reached the goal of §15.000. Is it anything less this kickstarter project will not start and no credit card will be charged. So if you are sure, you can contribute a certain amount and you wil have that sum spare at least at the 4th of November you can contribute today without taking money in the hand for the next 20 days. Greetings from Germany, Hardy.

    At Steven: Please correct me if I’m not correct with my answer to Sam. Thx.

  4. Winnie says:

    Hope that when your essay goes up at Salon, that helps reel in some new donors.

  5. Ted says:

    There was no spoiler warning on tumblr before that picture (I follow via feedly). Didn’t think you would post season six spoilers without warning (I had given up tower of the hand, watchersonthewall, etc. to avoid spoilers but figured racefortheironthrone was o.k.)

    Unfollowing, see you after GOT ends I guess. 😦 😦

    • I put spoiler in the title, put spoiler in tags, put the image below the cut, and I have a general policy on every post that there are spoilers!

      Come on, man, give me a break.

      • Ted says:

        I don’t recall you saying your posts would have season 6 leak spoilers (just TWOW chapters + season five GOT) but I certainly could have missed the warning.

        Maybe it was a failure of feed reader technology. FYI when I viewed new posts on your tumblr in feedly I saw this:

        And FWIW as someone who has read your TWOW predictions (and enjoyed them) “called it re: frankengregor” can only mean so many things.

  6. David Hunt says:

    Pledged. I hope this works out well. Blackwater week sounds cool!

Leave a Reply

