Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter!

attewell copy

So, after many delays, the big announcement that I’ve been talking about since the spring is finally here: the Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter is live! The purpose of this Kickstarter is to raise money so that I can devote more of my time to writing about A Song of Ice and Fire, and specifically to enable me to jump-start several projects I’ve been talking about for a while:

  • “Kings, Hands, and City-States: Analyzing a World of Ice and Fire” ebook – as I’ve discussed before (link), my editor Marc and I have put together an e-book that collects my Tower of the Hand essays, as well as two exclusive essays that update the Hollow Crowns and Hands of the King series for the post-World of Ice and Fire era. Supporting the Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter will get you an advance copy of the e-book a month ahead of the regular punters.
  • Race for the Iron Throne Volume 2 ebook – another major objective of the Kickstarter is to free up some time to only write about A Song of Ice and Fire, so that I can finish up A Clash of Kings, publish the Volume 2 ebook, and finally get into A Storm of Swords. In addition to the regular chapter-by-chapter essays, I’m also including some brand-new essays and other bonus content, to reward my regular readers.
  • Race for the Iron Throne *physical* books – one of the things I’ve been wanting to do for a long time is to produce physical versions of my e-book(s), both for those who don’t like or don’t have e-readers, and for those who enjoy collecting actual books. We’re starting with a physical version of “Kings, Hands, and City-States,” which will include some gorgeous interior art courtesy of joannalannister on tumblr that will make it a real treasure. We’ll also be doing physical versions of Race for the Iron Throne Volumes 1 and 2 as well, for those completists out there.
  • “Battle of Blackwater Week” – this is my personal favorite of the projects. I’ve decided to set aside the chapters that cover the Battle of Blackwater, and rather than put them out in my regular pace, I’m going to write them all out and post them over the course of a single week, with multiple posts every day. In addition to the recaps of the battle itself, I’ll also be doing a bonus podcast on the historical parallels of the Battle of Blackwater with Aziz from the History of Westeros podcast, as well as some other fun stuff. Contributing to the Kickstarter at this reward level means that you get advance access to all of this, as well as an invitation to a “Blackwater” Rewatch Party in NYC (if you can’t make it, we’ll send you a link to a livestream). We’ll have some drinks, rewatch the episode on a big screen, do some Q+A, maybe a reading from one of my books, and have hopefully-sub-Dothraki-wedding levels of fun.
  • And that just scratches the surface – I’ve got a whole bunch of bonus essays planned for if the Kickstarter hits its funding goals!

Over the past few years, Race for the Iron Throne has grown by leaps and bounds, largely due to your support. I appreciate your help enormously, and I hope you can continue to support me through this first experiment in crowdfunding. If you can’t chip in financially, I completely understand – penniless adjunct over here! – any help you can give in terms of spreading the word across the web and to your friends is incredibly helpful. I also want to assure you that this Kickstarter will not mean that you’ll lose out on any regular content. On the contrary, if this succeeds, you’ll be getting the same Race for the Iron Throne a lot more frequently.

So please visit my Kickstarter page, check out the rewards, and help contribute!

17 thoughts on “Race for the Iron Throne Kickstarter!

  1. Winnief says:

    Can’t give much but I kicked in $25. Good luck Steve.

  2. Haplo-6 says:

    I’m in. Hell, I spend a lot of time on this site and get a lot out of it. Your chapter-by-chapters stuff constitutes some of my favorite reading material. When re-reading a couple of chapters from AFFC the other day, I begin thinking, “what would Attewell say about that?” Best of luck.

  3. iblesstherainsdownincastamere says:

    Maester Steven, thank you so much for bringing your scholarly rigor to the Ice and Fire fandom. I have always considered your work to be like the Talmud to the Five Books of Martin! I’m a bit of a Luddite, so I’ll be shelling out for the hard copies, keep up the good work!

  4. David Hunt says:

    Well, I make a crappy amount of money, but I’ll be collecting an ungodly amount of overtime after Oct 15. I’ll manage to get some form of contribution after then. I hope this works out well for you.

  5. Brett says:

    Good stuff! I kicked in $50, and hope you hit the target.

    I wonder if we could get GRRM to signal boost it on his blog . . .

  6. Hardy says:

    Hey Steven.

    I’m a great admirer of your work analizing ASOIAF/GOT and was happy to buy your first ebook last year to do a little contribute for your immense efforts.

    I just kicked in 40 bucks, so you’re able to reach the $2,000 mark in your first day. If you are able to find a way to do shipments of your physical books to Europe (in my case: Germany), I would be happy to increase the amount to $200 (plus the extra cost for the additional shipment costs outside of the US).

    I’m quite confident, that you will reach your $15,000 goal in no time and happy about that for you and of course for us fans because we’ll get more quality essays in shorter time ;-).

    Keep on the great work and good luck with your kickstarter projekt. Greetings from Germany, Hardy.

    • Thanks very much!

      I’ll talk to Marc (my editor) about shipping to Germany. Should be possible.

      Thanks for your support once again!

      • Hardy says:

        That would be great. Thx in advance.

        • simsparkle says:

          Hi Steve

          Year long lurker/reader of your blog here. In a similar position (in the UK) and am thinking about how much I can pledge, partly based on my location. Already own the previous race e-book and the tower of the hand books, so I am keen to help.

          To add to what Hardy said, I’d also be looking at giving a larger figure if there were a possibility of shipping hard copy books to the uk, even if it means adding shipping costs on top of the standard pledge figures.

          Love reading your work here, always my first stop for asoiaf insights.

          • Thanks! Yeah, I’m working with my editor to figure out what we can do with shipments to Europe. Given that more than a few people have expressed interest in hard copy contributions, I’d like to do it if possible.

            I’ll post an announcement about it on the Kickstarter page tomorrow.

  7. Jacob says:

    I kicked in $200 yesterday. Good luck with the kickstarter project and thanks for all your excellent work with Race for the Iron Throne! Your chapter-by-chapter analysis of ASOIAF and the video podcasts about each episode of GoT are easily some of the best and most interesting I’ve ever come across. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

