Race for the Iron Throne: E-Book Update

Hey folks! Just wanted to give a quick update on the e-book. My editor had a computer crash that slowed down some fancy things we’re doing inside the book to make it an amazing e-reader experience…but Marc has been working like gangbusters to get it ready, so it will be sent to Amazon.com today and will be launching tomorrow, April 7th.

storytelling

HOWEVER, we’re also going to be working like hell this next week to release an update to the book. I want to be clear, the book that will launch tomorrow is the full text of all of my essays and the update will not cost you a penny extra. What the update will include is some really cool functionality with things like every time a chapter is mentioned in a later essay, there’s an internal hyperlink back to that previous chapter so that you can quickly go back and see what I was referring to, just like on the blog; likewise, when I link to outside sources, the e-reader should pull up what I’m referring to. The update also includes new custom cover art and bonus material that I think you’ll really enjoy.

It’s a little unclear how soon after we upload those additions Amazon.com will send out the updated version – we’re going to work to try to make that as soon as possible, and the update should go into effect through the sync function automatically.

Anyway, thank you for your patience. I’m brand-new at this publishing stuff, and I will get better at it.

4 thoughts on “Race for the Iron Throne: E-Book Update

  1. John W says:

    What e-reader(s) will it be compatible with? Kindle for PC? iPad? Thanks.

  2. Abbey Battle says:

    I shall keep my eye on Kindle and do my best to purchase a copy; I can’t promise to READ it unless I’m away from my PC for any length of time, but it seems unfair to take advantage of your hospitality and not return the courtesy to come degree.

    Besides, I’m probably going to get even WORSE after ‘The World of Ice and Fire’ finally lands on my doorstep, so a little pre-emptive bribe – ahem Courtesy Purchase! – seems in order.

Leave a Reply

