Recap Discussion of HBO Game of Thrones Season 3, Episode 1: “Valar Dohaeris”

Game of Thrones is back, folks, which means it’s time for episode recaps with Entertained Organizer. In this episode, we discuss Night Watch fashion choices, Lego versions of Game of Thrones, GODDAMN GIANTS!, life lessons we learn from the show, social mobility via incendiary devices, my theory about what was going on with that completely inexplicable Harrenhal scene, Tyrion and Tywin’s dysfunctionality, beautiful beautiful dragons, Margaery and Cersei throwing epic shade at each other, nipple torture, and how Ser Barristan is clearly a Jedi.

Check it out!

6 thoughts on “Recap Discussion of HBO Game of Thrones Season 3, Episode 1: “Valar Dohaeris”

  1. Abbey Battle says:

    I’ve missed this series and I’m very glad to see it’s return – and I’m not unhappy to see that Game of Thrones is back on the Box either!

  2. Raenelle says:

    This is really in response to your recap on Episode 2. Re Sansa. Now, I have the advantage of having read the first 5 books, so I know a bit of how the character develops. But I have never understood the animosity towards her. She was a naïve young girl who believed all the fairy tales (like most young sheltered girls), then had them brutally smashed. Arya got away, but Sansa didn’t escape, so she uses the only tool she has to keep alive–she dissembles.

    But what I think is really important about Sansa’s helplessness is that she’s the only Stark whose direwolf is dead. She’s the only Stark without that mystical/physical protection. She’s rendered, IOW, completely helpless, except for her wits.

    Arya’s got attitude, but she’s in a position where that’s not necessarily fatal. Sansa’s not. I love Arya, of course. But I’m really at a loss to understand the lack of sympathy for Sansa. Maybe episode 2 will change that. I found her “He’s a monster” moment just devastating. Peter Dinklage-level acting, IMO.

    • stevenattewell says:

      In terms of where the animosity comes from – I think part of it stems from a failure to see the difference between straightforward depiction and critique of a particular mindset. Sansa is annoying in Book 1 because she’s meant to be in order to set up her transformation throughout the series, because GRRM is using Sansa to explore romantic medievalism.

      There’s a strong element of a particular form of sexism that privileges female protagonists who challenge gender norms and who are dynamic actors in the series. Sansa buys into the gender norms of Westeros more than most other characters in the series, and she spends more time surviving and enduring than triumphing. I think this will change when, as I believe, Sansa topples Littlefinger.

      In terms of the fandom’s sympathy – unfortunately, probably not. Especially when we get to her plotline with Tyrion.

      • Raenelle says:

        This is what I deservedly get when I jump into a conversation way in the middle without reading what went before. There’s a lot for me to unpack in your response, and I think that the best way to understand it is to go back and read your essays on Book One. I feel a bit foolish, really. This is actually an apology for barging in unprepared.

        I don’t need a reply to this. I’ll meet you again over in the original essays, after I’ve done some homework. I really do love your insights.

Leave a Reply

